Paris

Bonjour!

So, I went to Paris. Twice. And I absolutely fell in love with this beautiful city! And that’s exactly what this post is going to be about!

In March I went two days with my boyfriend to celebrate our first anniversary. It was my first time in Paris. Just finally standing next to the Eiffeltower after seeing it on photo’s all my life was absolutely mind blowing.

1492356406256[1].jpg

Paris seemed to be the perfect destination for a romantic trip. The scenery creates a vintage, sweet atmosphere.

We walked a lot. A lot. We even got lost. We had seen every big tourist attraction of Paris, or at least, what we thought were the biggest tourist attractions, except for the Sacre Coeur. I was a little upset I didn’t get to see it. We mostly explored along the Seine and everything between L’Arc de Triomph and the Louvre.

First we walked to the Eiffeltower. You just can’t go to Paris without having seen the Eiffeltower. You just can’t help but feel very small next to such a majestic building. I mean, just look at it!

IMG_20170302_130734.jpg

We walked a lot along the Seine. There are some stairs to get closer to the river here and there. There are not nearly as many people and I have enjoyed walking there hand in hand while the city continued rushing above us.

We then went to the Louvre. The pyramides are amazing and the Louvre Palace surrounding them are incredible.

IMG_1730.JPG

We continued our exploring through the Jardin des Tuileries, the lovely garden that connects the Louvre and the ferris wheel.

1492360392154[1].jpg

We kept walking and ended up at the Champs-Élysées. The street is filled with expensive stores and guards. Even at MC Donalds we had our bags checked.

At the end of the Champs-Élysées is L’arc de Triomph.

1492360488872[1].jpg

We were lucky enough to see an cermony of some soldiers.

1492360680194[1].jpg

We tried to find a nice restaurant, but we got lost and ended up having pizza near the Champs-Élysées.

I remember being very disappointed with the hotel bed. I was so tired and I just wanted to be swallowed by the softest bed to exist, but it ended up being quite hard. Something I probably won’t ever get used to is the chlorine water. In The Netherlands the water in the tap doesn’t taste like anything, and I absolutely HATE the taste of chlorine.

The second day we visited the Champs-Élysées again and we walked along the Seine to the Notre Dam.

1492360072878[1].jpg

The rest of the day we just kind of strolled through the small streets, which I totally grew to love.

IMG_20170303_114910.jpg

We didn’t get to do much that day, because we were going to go home again quite early.

(I am still busy with the video I filmed while I was there, but it should be up on my channel in a good week: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmpG_8vRFHi1R2L0W01iYgg )

 

The second time I went just one day with school. I met a photography compagnion, Sam, and we helped each other taking pictures.

1492349801102[1]

The weather was unexpectedly great, sunny, just a bit cloudy, hardly any wind.

After last time I thought I had seen about everything important of Paris.

Wrong.

The entire day I had hardly seen or been to anything I had seen or been to last time. It felt like visiting a whole different city!

First we went to the Notre Dam again. This time the square in front of the church was closed off and people were queueing like crazy to get on the square, only to queue again to get in the church itself.

1492356340906[1].jpg

Next we saw a beautiful view of the Eiffeltower from Trocadéro. I couldn’t believe my eyes. This was the moment Sam and I decided to stick together for the rest of the day and that resulted in taking ‘extra’ pictures of each other with the Eiffeltower in the back.

1492356838934[1].jpg

Next we went to the Galleries Lafayette. It’s a huge shopping mall, with the most beautiful glass ceiling I have ever seen. The ground floor was filled with stands with expensive jewellery, make-up and parfum. It hurt my wallet by just looking at it. We spent most of our time there in the Disney store. Like little kids we excitedly pointed at the Disney merchandise with our favourite childhood characters.

IMG_1984

Then we took the metro again and we went to Centre Pompidou. I bought a bracelet there to add to my collection. (I collect bracelets from everywhere I have been to.) I also had my first real crêpe there, yum!

This time I was able to go to the Sacre Coeur. There were a lot of people, and there were two wedding couples taking pictures with the amazing view. Then we had dinner at Montmartre, behind the Sacre Coeur, between all the artists.

1492355321776[1].jpg

I had taken a lens that couldn’t zoom the first time, which ended up being a mistake. I had to stand way too far away from buildings to properly photograph them. The second time I took my 24-105mm lens and personally I think those photo’s turned out much better. Let me know what you think!

Paris, I will definitely see you again some day!

Lots of love!

PastelTessa

 

3 thoughts on “Paris

Leave a Reply

